La Mujer Obrera

Who benefits from a local farmers’ market? Interview with Mercado Mayapán customers

In Uncategorized on May 23, 2011 at 10:17 am

On Sunday, May 22nd, we spoke with some customers about the upcoming farmers’ market at Mercado Mayapán. In this interview, we chatted with Marta and Maria, two residents of the Chamizal neighborhood, where Mercado Mayapán is located.

What do you think of having local farmers sell their products at Mercado Mayapan?
Maria: “That’s good, for those of us who live here. We are neighbors. We live about two blocks from here.”

Marta: “We walked here. I pray that all of this grows. I come every Sunday to eat a burrito and see the music and the dancing.”

Do you have access to places where you can guy vegetables?

Marta: “Nowhere. If there are no vegetables here, I have to ask my niece to bring me some groceries.”

Maria: “Are you going to open daily when the farmers start coming?”

Marta: “I hope so. I like to come here often. I’m going to pray for this place.”

Mercado Mayapan is currently open Friday – Sunday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The Mercado Mayapan Farmers’ Market starts June 4, 2011.

Leave a Reply

